

## E-AGENDA MANAGER

# **Duval County Public Schools**

November 18, 2014, Special Board Meeting - Organizational Meeting

Ms. Cheryl Grymes, Chairman

Ms. Ashley Smith Juarez, Vice-Chairman

Ms. Becki Couch

Mr. Jason Fischer

Dr. Constance S. Hall

Mr. Scott Shine

Ms. Paula D. Wright

Dr. Nikolai Vitti, Superintendent

ATTENDANCE AT THIS SPECIAL MEETING OF THE DUVAL COUNTY SCHOOL BOARD : All Board Members were present. Dr. Nikolai Vitti, Superintendent, and Ms. Karen Chastain, Chief of Legal Services, were also present.

Call Meeting to Order

Call Meeting to Order

Minutes:

The meeting was called to order at 5:05 p.m.

Invocation

**Invocation** 

Minutes: Pastor Steve Hall gave the invocation.

## Pledge of Allegiance

## Pledge of Allegiance

#### **Board Members'**

## **SWEARING IN CEREMONY**

#### Minutes:

Superintendent Nikolai Vitti announced the three board members being sworn in this evening:

In District 2, Scott Shine will be sworn in by the Honorable Ronnie Fussell, Clerk of Court.

In District 4, Paula Wright will be sworn in by the Reverend George Price. In District 6, Becki Couch will be sworn in by Ms. Alberta Hipps.

All three introduced their friends and family members present to support them.

## **ELECTION OF THE CHAIRMAN**

#### Minutes:

#### Election of Chairman:

Board Member Jason Fischer nominated Cheryl Grymes.

Board Member Connie Hall nominated Becki Couch. Becki Couch declined the nomination.

No other nominations were made.

Ms. Cheryl Grymes was elected Chairman by unanimous vote.

Motions:

Cheryl Grymes was nominated. - PASS

Vote Results

Motion: Jason Fischer

Second:

Rebecca Couch - Aye

Jason Fischer	- Aye
Cheryl Grymes	- Aye
Connie Hall	- Aye
Ashley Juarez	- Aye
S Shine	- Aye
Paula Wright	- Aye

## **ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN**

## Minutes:

Motions:

Ashley Smith Juarez was nominated for Vice-Chairman.

- PASS

Vote Results

Motion: Jason Fischer

Second:

Rebecca Couch - Nay
Jason Fischer - Aye
Cheryl Grymes - Aye
Connie Hall - Nay
Ashley Juarez - Aye
S Shine - Aye
Paula Wright - Nay

Motions:

Paula Wright was nominated for Vice-

Chairman.

Vote Results

Motion: Rebecca Couch

Second:

## **OATH OF OFFICE**

#### Minutes:

Cheryl Grymes was sworn in as Chairman by Warren Grymes.

Ashley Smith Juarez was sworn in as Vice-Chairman by the Honorable Ronnie Fussell and the Honorable Alberta Hipps.

- PASS

## ESTABLISH TIME, PLACE AND DATE OF REGULAR MEETINGS

#### Minutes:

#### Motions:

That the Duval County School Board conduct their regular meetings on the first Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m., in the first Floor Board Room of the Administration Building 1701

the Administration Building 1701 Prudential Drive, Jacksonville, FL

32207

Vote Results

Motion: Jason Fischer Second: Rebecca Couch

Rebecca Couch - Aye
Jason Fischer - Aye
Cheryl Grymes - Aye
Connie Hall - Aye
Ashley Juarez - Aye
S Shine - Aye
Paula Wright - Aye

## SELECTION OF REPRESENTATIVE FOR FSBA LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE

Minutes:

Motions:

Board Member Becki Couch is nominated as FSBA Legislative

Committee Chair.

- PASS

Vote Results

Motion: Ashley Juarez Second: Paula Wright

Rebecca Couch - Aye
Jason Fischer - Aye
Cheryl Grymes - Aye
Connie Hall - Aye
Ashley Juarez - Aye
S Shine - Aye
Paula Wright - Aye

Motions:

Board Member Paula Wright was

nominated as the FSBA Legislative - PASS

Committee Alternate.

Vote Results

Motion: Rebecca Couch Second: Ashley Juarez

Rebecca Couch - Aye
Jason Fischer - Aye
Cheryl Grymes - Aye
Connie Hall - Aye
Ashley Juarez - Aye
S Shine - Aye
Paula Wright - Aye

#### For The Record

#### For The Record

#### Minutes:

Board Member Hall wished everyone a happy and safe Thanksgiving.

Vice-Chairman Ashley Smith Juarez welcomed new Board Member Scott Shine.

Board Member Couch thanked everyone for their support in her reelection. Congratulations to the new Chairman and Vice-Chairman and looks forward to working with new Board Member Scott Shine.

Board Member Paula Wright thanked her family for coming out to support her. Welcome to new Board Member Scott Shine; thank you to Becki Couch for her leadership this past year.

Board Member Jason Fischer welcomed back colleagues as well as new Board Member Scott Shine; thank you to Becki Couch for her leadership this past year.

Board Member Scott Shine is grateful to the veteran board members; thanks to former Board Members Fred "FEL" Lee and Nancy Broner for their support; he was inspired to run for this office by Dr. Vitti because of his personal battle with dyslexia; Board Member Shine suffers from it too and hopes to help champion that cause.

Chairman Grymes welcomed Board Member Shine; Board Member Couch did a great job this past year with her leadership; thanks to her family for their support.

The Board presented former Chairman Becki Couch with a plaque to thank her for her leadership as Chairman this past year.

## Adjournment

## **Adjournment**

Minutes:

The meeting was adjourned at 5:51 p.m.

LBL

Superintendent	 Chairman